free counter

3 Short Films Be eligible for Oscars With HollyShorts Film Festival Awards

Victor Gabriels Hallelujah, Seemab Guls Mulaqat/Sandstorm and Joseph Pierces Scale have won the very best awards at the 2022 HollyShorts Film Festival, which presented its prizes on Saturday afternoon in Hollywood thus qualifying because of this years Academy Awards.

Hallelujah won the Grand Prix for the festivals best short, Mulaqat/Sandstorm took the honors because the best live-action short and Scale won for animation. HollyShorts can be an Oscar-qualifying festival for the short-film categories, and the winners of these three awards are automatically entered in the Oscar race.

The award to Hallelujah was presented via video by this years Oscar winners for Best Live Action Short, The Long Goodbye filmmakers Riz Ahmed and Aniel Karia. The Oscar winners for the 2018 live-action short Skin, Jamie Ray Newman and Guy Nattiv, presented the awards to Mulaqat/Sandstorm and best-director winner Carlos Segundo (Sideral), respectively.

Oscars Short Doc Nominees Discuss Their Films – and Getting Bumped From the Awards Telecast (Video)

Other winners included Ben Proudfoot, who won this years Oscar for Best Documentary Short for The Queen of Basketball, and who took the HollyShorts prize for his new doc, Mink!

The 2022 HollyShorts Film Festival occurred from Aug. 11-20 personally at the TCL Chinese 6 Theatres in Hollywood, and virtually on the streaming platform Bitfix.

This is actually the full set of winners:

OSCAR-qualifying Grand Prix Best Short: Hallelujah,Victor Gabriel

OSCAR-qualifying Best Live Action: Mulaqat/Sandstorm, Seemab Gul

OSCAR-qualifying Best Animation: Scale,Joseph Pierce

Best Director: Sideral, Carlos Segundo

Best Action: Kickstart My Heart,Kelsey Bollig

Best Comedy: All I Ever Wanted, Erin Lau

Best Costume Design: Sauerdogs, Carmen Granell

Best Drama: Just like the Ones I Used to learn, Annie St-Pierre

Best Documentary: Mink!, Ben Proudfoot

Best Editing: THE DEVICE, Rowan McKay

Best Female Screenplay Presented by BeCine: Last Ship East, Eris Qian

Best Horror: Moshari, Nuhash Humayun

Best International: The Voice Actress, Anna J. Takayama

Latinx Award Presented by Viacom International Studios: Huella, Gabriela Ortega

Best LGBTQIA+: North Star, P.J. Palmer starring Colman Domingo

Best Midnight Madness: Homesick,Will Seefried

Best Music Video: Consensual, Jeff Hilliard and Joey Danger

Best Producer: Hallelujah,Duran Jones

SAG Indie Winner: My Jerome, Adjani Salmon

Hawk Films Screenplay Award: Mina Finds Her Edge!, Robin Rose Singer

Best Sci-Fi: Waltz of the Angels, Braden Barton

Script Compass Screenplay Award: In the Garden Of Tulips, Ava Lalezarzadeh

Kodak Best Shot on Film: North Pole, Marija Apcevska

Kodak Shot on Film Super 8MM: Deerwoods Deathtrap, James P. Gannon

Kodak Shot on Film Honorable Mention: Not the 80s, Marleen Valien

Social Impact Award: Stranger at the Gate, Joshua Seftel

Best Student Film: The Visit, Ebele Tate

Best Thriller: Wild Bitch, Rebekka Johnson and Kate Nash

Best TV: A Question of Service, Erin Brown Thomas

Best TV Screenplay: Forsyth County, James Sasser

Best VFX: Black Dragon (Rng en)

Best Web Series: Kura, Vince McMillan

Ladies in Film Award: Apart, Together, Olivia Hang Zhou

ZEISS Presents: Hollyshorts Film Festival Achievement in Filmmaking and Cinematography: Censor of Dreams, Khalib Mohtaseb

ZEISS Presents: HollyShorts Film Festival Achievement in Filmmaking and Cinematography: Nancy Schreiber

Oscars Live Action Shorts Nominees Use Their Films as a Platform for Social Justice (Video)

Read More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker