free counter
Health And Medical

IAFP presents awards at 2022 annual meeting

PITTSBURGH, PA Yesterday evening, the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) announced its award winners at its annual meetings Awards Banquet.

IAFP presented awards recognizing excellence in food safety to the next organizations and people.

IAFP Fellow Award

The IAFP Fellow Award is awarded to professionals who’ve contributed to IAFP and its own affiliates with distinction over a protracted time period.

This years recipients are David Blomquist, DFB Consulting, Hastings, MN; James Dickson, Iowa State University; Lynn McMullen, University of Alberta, Edmonton, CA; George-John Nychas, Agricultural University of Athens, Greece; and Manan Sharma, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Beltsville, MD.

Presidents Lifetime Achievement Award

Katherine M. J. Swanson, KMJ Swanson Food Safety Inc. (retired), Mendota Heights, MN, was awarded the Presidents Lifetime Achievement Award. This award, given at the discretion of the IAFP President, recognizes a person who has made a lasting effect on Advancing Food Safety Worldwide by way of a duration of professional achievements in food protection.

Honorary Life Membership Award

The Honorary Life Membership Award was presented to Zeb Blanton, SGS THE UNITED STATES, surviving in Longwood, FL; Leon Gorris, Food Safety Futures, Nijmegen, Netherlands; Dale Grinstead, Diversey (retired), surviving in Highlands, NC; Paul Hall, AIV Microbiology and Food Safety Consultants, Inc., Lakeland, FL; Elliot Ryser, Michigan State University, East Lansing; and Edith Wilkin, Laprino Foods (retired), surviving in Castle Rock, CO. This award recognizes IAFP Members because of their dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for his or her service to the Association.

Harry Haverland Citation Award

The Harry Haverland Citation Award was awarded to Francisco Diez-Gonzalez, University of Georgia, Griffin, for his years of devotion to the ideals and objectives of the Association.

Sponsored by Eurofins

Food Safety Innovation Award

bioMrieux, Hazelwood, MO, received the meals Safety Innovation Award, given for the development of Predictive Diagnostics, its latest method of food safety and quality testing.

Sponsored by Walmart

International Leadership Award

The International Leadership Award was presented to Arie Havelaar, University of Florida, Gainesville, for his dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for promotion of the mission of the Association in countries outside the USA and Canada.

Sponsored by Food BACK-UP Services

Food Safety Award

Ann Marie McNamara, U.S. Foods, Hoffman Estates, IL, received the meals Safety Award in recognition of an extended history of outstanding contributions to food safety research and education.

Sponsored by Consumer Brands Association (CBA)

Frozen Food Foundation Research Award

The Frozen Food Foundation Freezing Research Award was presented to Jeff Farber, University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada. This award honors a person, group, or organization for preeminence and outstanding contributions in research that impacts food safety attributes of freezing.

Sponsored by the Frozen Food Foundation

Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award

The Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award was presented to Kali Kniel, University of Delaware, Newark, to identify her service for outstanding contributions in the laboratory and recognizing dedication to the development of innovative and practical analytical approaches to get food safety.

Sponsored by The Fred and Elizabeth Weber Trust

Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award

Yaohua Feng, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, was presented the Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award. This award is presented to a researcher who shows outstanding ability and professional promise in the first years of their career.

Sponsored by bioMrieux

James M. Jay Diversity in Food Safety Award

The James M. Jay Diversity in Food Safety Award was presented to Haley Oliver, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN. This award recognizes someone who has made exceptional contributions to enhancing equity, diversity, and inclusion in neuro-scientific food safety.

Sponsored by 3M Food Safety

Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award

Darin Detwiler, Northeastern University, surviving in LA, CA, may be the recipient of the Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award. This award recognizes a person for dedicated and exceptional contributions to the reduced amount of risks of foodborne illness.

Sponsored by Marler Clark

Sanitarian Award

Charles Giambrone, Rochester Midland Corporation, New Hope, PA, received the Sanitarian Award to identify his dedication and exceptional service to the profession of sanitarian, serving the general public and the meals industry.

Sponsored by Ecolab Inc.

Elmer Marth Educator Award

The Elmer Marth Educator Award was presented to Lawrence Goodridge, University of Guelph, Ontario, CA, to identify his dedication and exceptional contributions to the profession of the educator.

Sponsored by Nelson-Jameson, Inc.

Harold Barnum Industry Award

Yvonne Chan Masters, John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc., Elgin, IL, may be the recipient of the Harold Barnum Industry Award. This award recognizes her outstanding service to IAFP, the general public, and the meals industry.

Sponsored by MERCK Animal Health

Black Pearl Award

IAFP selected HelloFresh because the 2022 recipient of the prestigious Black Pearl Award.

This honor is given annually to 1 company because of its efforts in advancing food safety and quality through consumer programs, employee relations, educational activities, adherence to standards, and support of the goals and objectives of IAFP.

Sponsored by F&H Food Equipment Company

Gavel Presentation to the Incoming President

Ruth Petran presents incoming president Michelle Danyluk with the IAFP gavel. Photo by Jonan Pilet

Association members saw their organizations presidential gavel change hands just as before on the ultimate evening of the conference at the annual awards banquet.

Incoming president, Michelle Danyluk of the University of Florida accepted the gavel from outgoing presidentDr. Ruth Petran of the Acheson Group and Ruth Petran Consulting, LLC.

(To join up for a free of charge subscription to Food Safety News, clickhere)

Read More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker