free counter

IndyCar penalizes Rossi, Andretti Autosport after Indy win

Rossi led 44 of the 85 laps, to score his eighth career IndyCar win and his first in a lot more than 3 years.

However, following post-race technical inspection last Saturday, the #27 Andretti Autosport-Honda was found to possess reached minimum weight in a way prohibited by the IndyCar rulebook.

Rule states that the minimum weight shall are the car in ready-to-compete condition excluding Driver, Driver Equivalency Weight, fuel and drink bottle content. Rule states that minimum weight for road/street course events is 1700 pounds.

From the sporting perspective, the automobile met minimum requirements, said IndyCar president Jay Frye. From the technical perspective, just how [Andretti Autosport] achieved the weight isn’t allowed.

To meet up minimum weight, the drink bottle and its own contents were used as car ballast, that is not permitted and just why the team has been fined and penalized.

As a result, IndyCar has fined Andretti Autosport $25,000 and penalized the team 20 entrant/driver points.

That cuts Rossis points tally from 298 to 278 in order that his points deficit to championship leader, Team Penske-Chevrolets STENGTH, is 153 with only four rounds remaining. In addition, it means Rossi slips from ninth to 11th in the championship, in order that Colton Herta is currently Andretti Autosport-Hondas top-ranked competitor in ninth with 285 points. Their teammates Romain Grosjean and Devlin DeFrancesco sit in 14th and 23rd respectively.

Although IndyCar stated that members may contest the imposition of the penalties detailed in the review and appeal procedures of the NTT IndyCar Series rulebook, team COO Rob Edwards informed that Andretti Autosport accepts the penalty.

Rossi will undoubtedly be departing Michael Andrettis squad at seasons end to become listed on Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet since it expands to three cars. Rossi, who finished in the very best three of the IndyCar championship in 2018 and 19, will undoubtedly be replaced at AA by current IndyCar rookie, 2021 Indy Lights champion Kyle Kirkwood.

Herta, Grosjean and DeFrancesco will stay in the #26, #28 and #29 cars respectively.

Read More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker