free counter
Tech

Samsung’s ‘Repair Mode’ keeps your computer data hidden from technicians

With stories of hackers selling private information in bulk on forums becoming more prevalent, it could be stressful to send your device for repair. Yes, you can wipe your phone, but you need to feel the hassle of restoring it afterward. Now, Samsung has introduced a remedy for that issue by means of a fresh function called “Repair Mode.”

In accordance with a Korean announcement first spotted by SamMobile, it is possible to activate the brand new mode under “Battery and Device Care” in Settings. Samsung didn’t explain the technology behind the feature, however when activated, it’ll hide your individual information, photos, messages and linked accounts. Only the device’s pre-installed apps will undoubtedly be noticeable to the technician. To regain usage of your data, you merely need to disable Repair Mode and use pattern or fingerprint recognition to authenticate your identity.

Since Samsung has yet to announce the feature outside Korea, it’s probably safe to state that it is only obtainable in the business’s home country right now. Further, it’s only on the Galaxy S21 series phones for the present time. However, the business says it’ll roll out Repair Mode to other models and hopefully to other regions later on.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. A few of our stories include affiliate links. In the event that you buy something through one of these brilliant links, we might earn a joint venture partner commission.

Read More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker