free counter

The Association of Immunization Managers (AIM) Recognizes New Winners of the Immunization Champion Award

28 Immunization Advocates Receive National Recognition for Contributions to Vaccine Access in 2022

Twenty-eight immunization advocates in the united states have already been named Immunization Champion because of their outstanding efforts to market immunization. The 2022 winners include:

  • Arizona: Sean Elliott, MD
  • California: Alex McDonald, MD
  • Connecticut: Gregory McKenna
  • District of Columbia: Elizabeth McDermott
  • Georgia: Jane Wilkov, MD
  • Hawaii: Lee Buenconsejo-Lum, MD
  • Idaho: Patrice Burgess, MD
  • Illinois: Douglas Carlson, MD
  • Kentucky: Jill Keys
  • Maine: Sara Noel
  • Maryland: Gregory Branch
  • Massachusetts: Katherine Kelly
  • Michigan: Christine Plummer
  • Minnesota: Kelly Robinson
  • Missouri: Michelle Yarnall
  • Nevada: Teresa Praus
  • North Dakota: Sonia Takacs
  • NEW YORK: Zhao Wang, MD
  • Ohio: Tara Dahal
  • Oklahoma: Jennifer Gilley-Brooks
  • Oregon: Sandy Le
  • Pennsylvania: Lauren Grantz
  • Puerto Rico: Johanna Cruz
  • Rhode Island: Eugenio Fernandez
  • SC: Youlanda Gibbs
  • Texas: Mary Healy, MD
  • Washington: Ahmed Ali
  • Wisconsin: Mohammed Anwar

Immunization Champion selections result from a pool of medical researchers, coalition members, community advocates, along with other immunization leaders. These awards acknowledge the outstanding efforts of people who beat ensuring immunization access within their communities. State immunization programs coordinated the nomination process and submitted nominees to AIM. One winner is selected in participating states, territories, and the District of Columbia.

Through the Immunization Champion awards, AIM proudly acknowledges the passion, effort, and commitment to immunization these 28 winners have repeatedly demonstrated, said AIM Executive Director Claire Hannan.

For profiles of all 2022 Immunization Champion award winners, please go to the AIM website.


Prior to the pandemic, every year during National Infant Immunization Week, the CDC and AIM honored medical researchers and community leaders from round the country with the CDC Childhood Immunization Champion awards. This season AIM has had on the award and expanded this program to add opportunities to identify Immunization Champions in multiple regions of immunization.

About Association of Immunization Managers:

The Association of Immunization Managers (AIM) is really a non-profit membership association made up of representatives from 64 federally funded state, territorial and local National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases awardees. AIM is focused on dealing with its partners nationwide to lessen, eliminate, or eradicate vaccine-preventable diseases. AIM also works to guarantee the success of its members by giving support within their programming interests. Since 1999, AIM has enabled collaboration among immunization managers to effectively control vaccine-preventable diseases and improve immunization coverage in the usa. To find out more on AIM, please visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Read More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker