free counter

US Open 2022: Schedule, scores, results, how exactly to watch, seeds for the ultimate Grand Slam of the growing season

Carlos Alcaraz Getty US Open 2022
Getty Images

The 2022 US Open is upon us, even though this year’s tournament is missing several stars, there is absolutely no shortage of interesting storylines to check out in Flushing Meadows.

Casper Ruud was the initial player to earn a ticket to the men’s final round after taking down Karen Khachanov 7-6 (7-5), 6-2, 5-7, 6-2 on Friday. The 23-year-old from Norway includes a chance at taking the No. 1 world ranking in a few days, which would be considered a career-high for him. Another player who could still take that No. 1 spot is Carlos Alcaraz, who Ruud will meet in Sunday’s final.

The 19-year-old Alcaraz includes a chance to end up being the first teenager to win a men’s Grand Slam since Rafael Nadal in 2005. Alcaraz, the No. 3 seed,took down 21-year-old Jannik Sinner within an intense five-set matchduring Wednesday’s quarterfinal. The match lasted five hours and 15 minutes and didn’t summary until 2: 50 a.m. ET, breaking the record for the most recent finish in US Open history. It had been an extended night, nonetheless it was worth every second. EvenCoco Gauff couldn’t stop watching.Alcaraz then beat Frances Tiafoe on Friday in the semifinals.

Tiafoe hoped to get rid of an extended drought for the U.S., as American men had opted 74 consecutive majors with out a title — the longest losing streak in the country’s tennis history. Tiafoe took down Andrey Rublev in straight sets during Wednesday’s quarterfinal round. In so doing, he became the initial American man to help make the US Open semifinals since Andy Roddick in 2006, and also the first African-American man to help make the tournament’s semifinals since Arthur Ashe in 1972.

Rafael Nadal, whowithdrew from Wimbledon before his semifinal matchdue to a personal injury, was back and prepared to compete in NY because the No. 2 seed. He managed to get to the fourth round after taking down Rinky Hijikata, Fabio Fognini and Richard Gasquet. However, his run ended with a 6-4, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3 loss to Tiafoe, which markedNadal’s first Grand Slam loss in over per year.The veteran had managed to get to at the very least the quarterfinal round of every of the final 16 majors he participated in, going completely back again to the 2017 US Open.

World No. 1 Daniil Medvedev won the 2021 tournament but fell lacking defending his title this season because the No. 1 seed after losing to the No. 23 seed — and Wimbledon runner-up — Nick Kyrgios. The Australian star continued to reduce in a five-set match against Khachonov in the quarterfinal round. Following the loss, Kyrgiossmashed two rackets out of frustration.

On the women’s side, defending champion Emma Raducanu entered because the No. 11 seed, but she was eliminated by Alize Cornet in straight sets (6-3, 6-3) in the initial round. But needless to say, the major storyline was surrounding Serena Williams, as this is likely the tennis veteran’s last Grand Slam tournament before retiring.

Williams, a 23-time Grand Slam champion, entered 21st US Open unseeded. She beat Danka Kovinic — an opponent she’d never faced before — in her first round matchup before taking down No. 2 seed Anett Kontaveit in the next round. Williams’ tournament found a finish in the third round with a loss to Ajla Tomljanovic.

World No. 1 Iga witek captured her third Grand Slam title after taking right out Ons Jabeaur in Saturday’s title match. witek jumped out to an early on lead and held to win another set tiebreak to have a 6-2, 7-6 (7-5) win. It capped off a a good Grand Slam season for witek as she won the 2022 French Open while also registering a 37-match winning streak, the longest in the WTA this century. Jabeur was a runner-up at a Grand Slam for the next time this season, after falling to Elena Rybakina at the Wimbledon final.

Here’s all you have to to know concerning the 2022 US Open:

How exactly to watch the 2022 US Open

  • Dates: Aug. 29- Sept. 11

  • Where: Billie Jean King National Tennis Center at Flushing Meadows in NY

  • TV: ESPN and ESPN2

  • Stream: fuboTV (try free of charge)


(All times are eastern)

  • First round: August 29-30
  • Second round:August 31-Sept. 1
  • Third round:Sept. 2-3
  • Fourth round:Sept. 4-5
  • Quarterfinals: Sept. 6-7
  • Women’s singles semifinals: Sept. 8, 7: 00 p.m.
  • Men’s singles semifinals: Sept. 9, 3: 00 p.m.
  • Women’s singles final: Sept. 10, 4: 00 p.m.
  • Men’s singles final: Sept. 11, 4: 00 p.m.

Notable matches

Women’s final

September 10

  • (1) Iga witek def. (5) Ons Jabeur 6-2, 7-6 (7-5)

Men’s final

September 11

  • (5) Casper Ruud vs. (3) Carlos Alcaraz, 4 p.m.

Men’s semifinals

September 9

  • (5) Casper Ruud def. (27) Karen Khachanov 7-6 (7-5), 6-2, 5-7, 6-2
  • (3) Carlos Alcaraz def. (22) Frances Tiafoe 6-7 (6), 6-3, 6-1, 6-7 (5), 6-3

Women’s singles seeds

  1. Iga Swiatek
  2. Annett Kontaveit
  3. Maria Sakkari
  4. Paula Badosa
  5. Ons Jabeur
  6. Aryna Sabalenka
  7. Simona Halep
  8. Jessica Pegula
  9. Garbine Muguruza
  10. Daria Kasatkina
  11. Emma Raducanu
  12. Coco Gauff
  13. Belinda Bencic
  14. Leylah Fernandez
  15. Beatriz Haddad Maia
  16. Jelena Ostapenko
  17. Caroline Garcia
  18. Veronika Kudermetova
  19. Danielle Collins
  20. Madison Keys
  21. Petra Kvitova
  22. Karolina Pliskova
  23. Barbora Krejcikova
  24. Amanda Anisimova
  25. Elena Rybakina
  26. Victoria Azarenka
  27. Martina Trevisan
  28. Ekaterina Alexandrova
  29. Alison Riske-Amritraj
  30. Jil Teichmann
  31. Shelby Rogers
  32. Elise Mertens

Men’s singles seeds

  1. Daniil Medvedev

  2. Rafael Nadal
  3. Carlos Alcaraz
  4. Stefanos Tsitsipas
  5. Casper Ruud
  6. Felix Auger-Aliassime
  7. Cameron Norrie
  8. Hubert Hurkacz
  9. Andrey Rublev
  10. Taylor Fritz
  11. Jannik Sinner
  12. Pablo Carreno Busta
  13. Matteo Berrettini
  14. Diego Schwartzman
  15. Marin Cilic
  16. Roberto Bautista Agut
  17. Grigor Dimitrov
  18. Alex de Minaur
  19. Denis Shapovalov
  20. Dan Evans
  21. Botic van de Zandschulp
  22. Frances Tiafoe
  23. Nick Kyrgios
  24. Francisco Cerundolo
  25. Borna Coric
  26. Lorenzo Musetti
  27. Karen Khachanov
  28. Holger Rune
  29. Tommy Paul
  30. Maxime Cressy
  31. Nikoloz Basilashvili
  32. Miomir Kecmanovic

Read More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker