free counter
World

What sort of 25-Year-Old Nonprofit Worker Eats on $56K/Year in Brooklyn, NY

Welcome to The Receipt, a string documenting how Bon Apptit readers eat and what they spend carrying it out. Each food journal follows one anonymous readers week of expenses linked to groceries, restaurant meals, coffee runs, and every bite among. In this time around of rising food costs, The Receipt reveals how folksfrom different cities, with different incomes, on different schedulesare determining their food budgets. Think Refinery29s Money Diaries but only food or The Grub Street Diet but anyone else.

In todays Receipt, a 25-year-old nonprofit worker making $56,000 per year recovers from top surgery in Brooklyn. Continue reading for his or her receipts.

Jump ahead:

The finances

What exactly are your pronouns? They/them

What’s your occupation? I work full-time at a nonprofit and in addition do a large amount of side gigspart-time contract work with other nonprofits, taking part in clinical tests, pet-sitting, helping people move and build furniture, and other things that arises.

How old are you currently? 25

What city and state can you reside in? NY, NY

What’s your annual salary, for those who have one? $56,000

Just how much is one paycheck, after taxes? $1,500 from my nonprofit job, after taxes, medical health insurance, union dues, and 401(k) contributions. Last month, I also made $1,500 from the month-long contract project and $300 for taking part in a 20-hour online nonprofit program.

How often are you currently paid? (e.g., weekly) Biweekly

How much cash are you experiencing in savings? $20,000. I graduated without student education loans with family help, dont have dependents, and didnt have many health needs ahead of transitioning. I was also let go from the day job due to the pandemic and was collecting unemployment.

What exactly are your approximate fixed monthly expenses beyond food? (i.e., rent, subscriptions, bills)

  • Rent: $1,120
  • Wi-Fi: $27.50
  • Medical prescriptions: $25
  • Utilities: Around $50
  • Spotify: $2.89 (Family plan split six ways)
  • Magazine subscription to The Nib: $5
  • MetroCard: Around $50
  • Phone: $30
  • Total: $1,310.39

The dietary plan

Can you follow a particular diet or have dietary restrictions? No. I did so go vegetarian having an ex-girlfriend in college, but I eat meat now.

Do you know the grocery staples you always buy, if any?

  • Chobani Flips, bagels, and Honey Bunches of Oats for an easy breakfast
  • Bananas, raspberries, strawberries, oranges, grapes, or whatever fruit is in season
  • Pasta
  • Spinach, romaine, arugula, and any toppings or dressings to create salads
  • Coke, kombucha, lemonade
  • Preprepared food to stock the freezer, such as for example frozen pasta, dumplings, fried rice, and breakfast items

Read More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker